A rather lazy breakfast

I often skip my breakfast. I know I know it’s bad. But I always need 1 hour to “wake my stomach up”, or you know, begin to get any appetite at all. As I get more health conscious, I want to change that bad habit of mine.

This recipe below is not a healthy breakfast (my taste buds don’t accept granola, nuts, cereals – I tried), but I hope it can change my habit.

The preparation and cooking time nearly equates to 1 hour, and most of the work is done by the oven so I can multitask by rushing that homework that is due by 08.00AM or practicing yoga, or be a lazy bum and get back to nap for 30 more minutes.

BACON EGG BOWLS (Source: Tastemade – thanks to this place I don’t need to eat same thing everyday 🙂 )

YOU’LL NEED…

  • 250g thickly sliced bacon, roughly chopped

  • 3 large eggs

  • 270ml milk

  • ½ tsp salt

  • pepper

  • pinch nutmeg

  • ½ cup gruyere cheese, grated

  • 4 buns

LET’S GET COOKING…

  1. Fry the bacon in a pan set to medium heat until crispy. Transfer the bacon to a plate lined with paper towel to absorb excess oil. Set aside.

  2. Whisk the eggs, milk, salt, pepper and nutmeg in a bowl. For extra flavour, you can add any herb or seasoning of your choice.

  3. Slice the tops off the buns and remove the bread from the center, creating bowls. Place the bowls on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. Evenly distribute the bacon and cheese between the bread bowls, then pour the egg mixture on top.

  4. Bake at 320F for 30-40 min, until the egg has set and is lightly browned. Remove from the oven and enjoy!

Screenshot 2016-05-13 00.07.42.png

 

Leave a Reply

